Company Information - International and Countries all over the world - Company Information

Company / Business registers

The term "business register" comprises the national commercial registers, companies' registers, and any other register storing primary company information and making it available to the public.
Reporting and filing requirements for companies differ from country to country and sometimes from state to state, or region to region. They also vary depending on the size and legal form of the company (sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability etc). Many of the official company registries are on the Web and some offer access to their company databases.

list of national business registers: Wikipedia list
Overseas Registers:
A list of official company registers by country provided by Companies House (UK)
EBRA, European Business Regist ry Association
The European Business Register (EBR) is a network of National Business Registers and Information Providers from currently 28 European countries.
Registers - business, insolvency & land
Information on business, land and insolvency registers at EU and national level
VIES VAT Number Validation (EU)
You can verify the validity of a VAT number issued by any Member State by selecting that Member State from the drop-down menu provided, and entering the number to be validated.

OpenCorporates
This register collects information about companies and senior employees across countries and jurisdictions

Articles on Company Registries:

Private company information outside the U.S.: Western Europe, UK and Ireland
The availability of data about private companies, particularly in jurisdictions where minimal or no reporting is required by law, can be challenging to obtain. This article examines sources of information on private companies.
"Searching International Company Registries Online" by Rachel Brett This article highlights the key issues to be aware of when carrying out international company searches and reviews the information available online from the national company registries for some of the key European and offshore jurisdictions including: Jersey, Guernsey, Isle of Man, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Switzerland, the Cayman Islands and the British Virgin Islands.

Company databases in the CBS Library

Company databases
An overview of available company databases via CBS Library

Company databases - starting points for your company research

ORBIS:
contains basic data including financial information on more than 400 million companies globally including private companies.
Data include:
(note that the database contains standardized data. Use the Help Menu function > Content > Online Guides (English) > Orbis User Guide > Data > Financial data to find format definitions)

Financial information. The system operates a 10-year window for listed companies and a 5-year window for all other companies.
(NB! Far from all private companies have to file financial information)
Information about industry affiliation
Brief accounts of company history and main activities
Contact information, including address, phone number, e-mail, website, and link to Google maps
Management and board member directory

Key elements in the database:

Ownership: information about shareholders, subsidiaries, equity interests (direct and indirect), ultimate owners etc.
Mergers & acquisitions: Orbis is linked up to the database Zephyr that contains information about mergers and acquisitions etc.
Analysis:

Pivot analysis (Segmentation): Two variables (e.g. industry and turnover)
Peer analysis (peer report): Benchmarking, financial data, a maximum of 500 companies
Aggregation: Aggregates financial data from selected companies
Compare groups (Statistical distribution): distribution of a given variable across companies (e.g. turnover)
Geographic Heat Map (Concentration analysis): relative ratio of a given variable

NB! No access to Global Reports, Royalty Agreement and Industry Profiles.

(Source: ORBIS > My ORBIS > About ORBIS > Coverage; december 2020)

KOMPASS
Kompass contains information on more than 50 million companies worldwide, including about 240.000 Danish companies. Traditionally, Kompass had its strength in the business-to-business (B2B) area, but now also covers e.g. the retail area.s.

Commodities and services
The strength of Kompass - Easy Business is the very detailed system of product codes into which the companies are sorted. There are more than 50,000 different products / services compared to approx. 800 industries in other code systems such as DB07, NACE and NAICS. You can also search for export areas. The information stems from self-reporting.
Brand name and trademarks
You can search into more than 700.000 trademarks and brand names.
Financial information
CBS Library does not offer access to the financial information section. Use Navne & Numre Erhverv (Danish Companies) or Orbis for companies worldwide.
Search hint: as language you can choose between Danish and English
Print and download: It’s only possible to download data to pdf. And only company profiles – not company lists.

EMIS Emerging Markets:
Provides financial statements, company information, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, news articles, and market-specific information on emerging countries.
Access to company profiles, reports, news and more from more than 170 countries

Business Source Ulimate:
Contains scholarly journal articles in business and related disciplines, company profiles, market and industry reports, SWOT analyses, cases etc. Available publications are pulled from MarketLine, MedWatch, EIU, WEFA, Countrywatch, ICON Group, and many more.

Company information provides you with a quick overview of company key figures, subsidiaries, people, and industry and access to articles.

Company profiles, located in the More menu, contains profiles of companies, including SWOT analyses, competitor lists, as well as company histories.

GlobalData Explorer
contains more than 750.000 company profiles and 20.000 industry profiles covering 215 countries. Some company profiles are more comprehensive than others and include a SWOT analysis and brief biographies of key executives.

GlobalData Explorer also includes Company financial analysis tools. This analysis tool consists of four different databases covering more than 400.000 companies worldwide:

Company Filings Analytics: Filing analytics provides predictive intelligence on a company’s performance and sector insights by systematically analyzing thousands of earnings statements and transcripts. The product currently covers transcripts and filings of around 20,000 entities (across sectors), which will expand in future to cover new filings across geographies.
Deals Tracker: a database of global information on mergers and acquisitions (M&A), private equity, venture finance, and private placement transactions, IPOs, and partnerships across various industries.
Company Screening Tool (part of the Companies menu tab): in this database you can generate lists of companies within different industries and countries. And you can perform competitor & vendor analytics on targeted industry and geography.
Advisors & Investors: in this database you can find advisory & investment firms operating in specific industries.

Passport (earlier name GMID - Global Market Information Database)
Company profiles: analytical profiles of the top international players in the consumer market industry.
Global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, and surveys on industries, companies, countries and consumers worldwide.

Factiva:
Select the Companies/Markets tab followed by Company and enter in a company name or ticker symbol. View company snapshot, company news and annual financials for the previous 5 years (balance sheet, cash flow, income statement, key ratios).

Limited information on private companies in this section of Factiva. But you may find many articles on all kinds of companies.

S&P Capital IQ

The S&P Capital IQ platform is a web-based platform providing highly structured, in-depth financial data and information on over 63,000 public and 4.5 million private companies, as well as data on markets, industries and people.

Companies: the backbone of the S&P Capital IQ platform is a collection of highly structured corporate and market data. Coverage: in total, Capital IQ has a base coverage of more than 11 million companies, of which about 10,9 million are active. However, in terms of detailed coverage, the universe is smaller, with 63,000 public companies and 4.5 million private companies, totalling 99% of global market capitalization.

Company Information: Company Information - International and Countries all over the world

Company / Business registers

Company databases in the CBS Library

Company databases - starting points for your company research