Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for literature on company history
Brief histories of companies can be found using the databases listed next to
More in depth histories are sometimes available in books. In its collection CBS Library has many books about the history and development of different companies.
Search hint: Search for the term virksomhedshistorie or try "company history". You can also search on the name of a specific company. The physical books you will find either on the shelf 933 or on the shelf for the industry.
International Bibliography of Business History by The field of business history has changed and grown dramatically over the last few years. There is less interest in the traditional `company-centred' approach and more concern about the wider business context. With the growth of multi-national corporations in the 1980s, international and inter-firm comparisons have gained in importance. In addition, there has been a move towards improving links with mainstream economic, financial and social history through techniques and outlook. The International Bibliography of Business History brings all of the strands together and provides the user with a comprehensive guide to the literature in the field. The Bibliography is a unique volume which covers the depth and breadth of research in business history. This exhaustive volume has been compiled by a team of subject specialists from around the world under the editorship of three prestigious business historians.
Publication Date: 1996-12-16
The Oxford Handbook of Business History by
Publication Date: Oxford University Press, 2008
Business historians study the historical evolution of business systems, entrepreneurs and firms, as well as their interaction with their political, economic, and social environment.
Journals - focus on Company History
Below-mentioned journals are examples on some major journals with main focus on company and business history. Other journals of interest could be "Business and Economic History" and "Journal of Economic History". You can find the journals using "Find Journals".
Business History Review by
A quarterly publication of research by historians, economists, sociologists, and scholars.
Business History by
an international journal concerned with the long-run evolution and contemporary operation of business systems and enterprises
Search for companies in Wikipedia
Company History - Databases.
International directory of company histories:
Includes comprehensive company histories of some 11,000 US and international companies and multinationals.
Records include: Early history, key dates, key strategic moves, principal subsidiaries, major competitors, information about mergers and acquisitions, evolution in organization and management and suggestions for further readings.
International Directory of Company Histories is part of Gale Virtual Reference Library. The database is updated on a regular basis and consists of more than 100 volumes, of which the first appeared in 1988.
You can find historical information about the companies in articles and reports
access to in-depth articles on companies
Search hint: choose Search > Subject > Corporate/Industrial News >
Profiles of Companies (here you find articles from year 2000 and forward)
Using the Companies/Markets menu tab you have access to company reports from Dow Jones. They include a presentation of the history of the companies.
Business Source Complete or MarketLine
both databases give access to almost 30,000 company reports from MarketLine
(previously Datamonitor). The reports contain among other things a short description
of the historical development.
Search hint (for Business Source Complete): choose the tab More > Company Profiles -
and search for the company
In some company databases as ORBIS you can find a short
historical description of the major companies
Search hint: company name > report > Company profile >
Industry and activities
Economist Historical Archive (1843-2015)
contains among other things major company profiles, highly regarded country reports and industry reports
Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2016)
Access to Financial Times backfiles. This historical archive is a comprehensive, accurate, and unbiased research tool for everyone studying the economic and business history and current affairs of the last approximately 120 years.
Historical stock data and more
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
The CRSP dataset within WRDS provides comprehensive, downloadable stock data with deep historical files.
Provides two years of daily stock price data and five years of monthly prices.
Search hint: select the menu tab Companies/Markets > Quotes
Thomson One Banker
provides access to stock price data: five years of daily stock prices, ten years of weekly stock prices and thirty years of monthly stock prices
The Financial Databanks:
Bloomberg, Eikon and Datastream
Company History - websites
Company Histories & Profiles
Company history and profiles. Main source to this wbsite is International Directory of Company Histories.
Annual Reports at Academic Business Libraries
By Purdue University. Index to historical corporate Annual Reports to Shareholders fro 38,000 companies at the following universities: Columbia U., Cornell U., Harvard U., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Purdue U., Stanford U., U. of Alabama, U. of California-Berkeley, U. of Pennsylvania, U. of Western Ontario, Yale U., and the Science/Industry/Business Library of New York Public Library.
Corporate Reports from Baker Library
Original company documents from circa 1820 to the present: annual reports, prospectuses, proxies, registration statements, and miscellaneous items such as brokerage-house reports, charts, and unpublished corporate histories. Approximately 20,000 companies.