Libguides: Company Information: M&A (Mergers & Acquisitions)

Mergers & Acquisitions (M&A) - Intro

A merger or acquisition is a combination of two companies where one corporation is completely adsorbed by another corporation. A merger extinguishes the merged organization, and the surviving organization assumes all the rights, privileges, and liabilities of the merged company.

What are Mergers and Acquisitions - M&A?
This InvestorsEdge.Com dictionary covers terms used in mergers and acquisitions
Mergers and acquisitions - Wikipedia
A good starting point for a brief orientation to the topic. Defines many aspects of the industry and provides a list of many major mergers & acquisitions.

M&A updates from Thomson Reuters Worldwide

Access to the latest M&A updates and news from Thomson Reuters Worldwide Mergers and Acquisitions database:

M&A Databases - access by CBS Library

M&A Databases - access by CBS Library Shortcut to databases with M&A information

IPOs on the pricipal stock markets

Academic EurIPO Fact Book 2015 by Stefano Paleari; Daniele Piazzalunga; Andrea Signori; Fabio Trabucchi; Silvio Vismara
ISBN: 9781530396177
Publication Date: 2016-03-21
The most complete and innovative outlook on worldwide financial markets and IPOs

The annual publication "Academic EurIPO", 2006 - 2015. describes the IPOs in Europe providing:
the academic debate on IPOs, outlook on international IPOs, offering methodology, ownership structure, and corporate governance, valuation of IPOs and pre and post listing performance.

Journals - main focus on M&A

Mergers & Acquisitions (The Dealmaker's Journal): a reference tool providing full coverage of merger and acquisition activity and data on mergers and acquisitions worldwide; concise articles, pricing, structuring and acquisition strategies, trends and in-depth analysis.
Coverage: 1998 to present

Mergers & Acquisitions Report (previous titles are Mergers+Acquisitions International og M & A Europe): provides information on mergers, acquisitions, restructurings, & bankruptcies.
Coverage: 1999 to 2017

The journals can be found through Find Journals

Other journals / periodicals within the topic:

Business Source Ultimate has more publications within the M&A field.
Search hint: choose the tab "Publications". "Browse" with the key word "mergers" in the category "By Subject & Description".

European Union and mergers

European Commission website on mergers
Acces to legislation, cases, statistics and publications on mergers

Data on dead companies

The following databases contain data on companies that have merged, or been acquired in such a way as they no longer trade under the original name.

ORBIS
From the default Search select Status > Active/Inactive from the menu. Then select Inactive companies. Can then screen by further criteria as Dissolved (merger or take-over)
Datastream
Datastream company accounts data on Advance and AFO goes back to 1980. DS also retains share price data up to point where shares ceased to be traded.
To get price data on dead companies. Open Excel and select Datastream add-in.
Select: Time Series Data
Select: Find Series.
In the navigator search box type in the name of the dead equity you are looking for.
Select the correct entity by clicking on the symbol
For adjusted price data leave the datatype field blank.
Set your data range and run the search.

Fusioner i Danmark (før år 2000)

Konkurrencerådet udgav gennem en årrække årspublikationer med en oversigt over fusioner og virksomhedsovertagelser med tilknytning til Danmark:

Fusioner og virksomhedsovertagelser i dansk erhvervsliv. Redegørelse fra Monopoltilsynet: dækker perioden 1983-1989
Fusioner og virksomhedsovertagelser; udg. af Konkurrencerådet: dækker perioden 1985-1997

Databases and Sources for M&A Information - Screening for individual deals

ORBIS M&A
Content: ORBIS M&A contains information and data on mergers and acquisitions, IPOs, private equity, and venture capital deals. The database contains information on more than 2,3 million completed, pending, withdrawn, announced, and rumoured deals.
Coverage: European deals from 1997 and forward; global deals from 2001 and forward.
Additional features include news, ranking, and tables about M&A activities.

You will find links to more detailed financial information about the companies involved as provided by Orbis, another Bureau Van Dijk product.

Search hint:
using the question mark you can get access to your search, definitions of M&A terms etc.

Eikon
In Eikon you find data related to company transactions worldwide such as IPOs, mergers, corporate restructuring and joint ventures.
Content: covering over 1.1 million deals worldwide since the 1970s with daily updates.

Two tools to search for deals data:

Eikon desktop: search for company specific deals, IPO's, new share issues, mergers and acquisitions and syndicated loans.
Search hint: Enter the company name in the search box and choose Events > Company Deals
Eikon Excel Add-in: you can get an a general overview by using the Deals Screener located on the center left of the Excel Menu bar.
League tables: ready-made deals data that express ranking, market share, M&A Ran Value, deal count and year over year analytics
Volume analysis:

Strategic alliances
Definition: two companies exchange minority stakes of equal value in each other as a part of formation of a strategy alliance

Choose Screener > Alliance Flag

S&P Capital IQ

Choose Screening > Transactions (Transaction Screening)

Strategic alliances

Choose Screening > Transactions > search for Strategic alliance in the search box

Bloomberg

MA<GO> is the Bloomberg shortcut code for mergers & acquisitions data. You will use this function within Bloomberg to screen for M&A deals. You can use up to 20 variables to screen for deals.

Type: MA and press [GO]
Enter: region, industry, deal size and deal type
You can also screen for M&A deals with PE or VC involvement.

Click on 91) Advanced search:

Click on 11) Date Range under the Deal Criteria category
Click on 13) Deal Status under the Deal Criteria category
Click on 22) Public/Private under the Company Universe category
Click on 23) Region/Country under the Company Universe category
Click on 24) SIC Code under the Company Universe category
Click on 5) Deal List at the top of the screen for a list of search results
Click on 92) Actions at the top of the screen. Select Output then Excel to download the M&A data

Bloomberg M&A Individual Company Search:
enter the company name or ticker symbol in the search box on the M&A main page

GlobalData Explorer
contains a separate module - "Deals" - which is available through "Databases".
Content: data and news on mergers & acquisitions, private equity, venture finance, ”private placements”, IPOs and more.
Search hint: find the information by "Deals (Browse)" or by ”Refine Deals”.
You have also access to reports on M&A activities within specific industries and countries.

You have also access to reports on M&A activities within specific industries and countries.
Choose Dashboard and Click on country from the charts or Use the refinement filters to deep dive

Factiva:
This database provides you with articles, news and more on company deals, mergers etc.
Search hint: Underneath the Subject-item you find a specific topic on M&A: Subject > Corporate/Industrial News > Ownership Changes > Acquisitions/Mergers/Takeovers.
Try also to search for mergers in the Look-up function.

SEC Mergers (US):
The merger & acquisition industry is regulated by the U.S. Securties & Exchange Commission (SEC). The forms that are required to be filed are described here

Guide to SEC Filings
This guide by ThomsonReuters gives good descriptions of the various Securities and Exchange (SEC) filings required by the government for mergers and acquisitions
SEC - Forms List
This page provides links to PDF versions of SEC public forms and many of the rules, regulations, and schedules associated with these forms.
Edgar
Search by company name for SEC filings related to mergers, such as forms S-4, 14D9,14D6, and 8-K, from 1993 to present.

M&A overviews and league tables

League Tables are periodic rankings of M&A activity. They usually rank the largest deals and the firms involved in the deals

ORBIS M&A
In this database you can find predefined league tables on M&A.
Search hint: Choose Tools > League tables

Bloomberg

Bloomberg gives league tables of M&A activity in US and other markets.
Type MA and press [GO]
Select Option 7 for league tables of M&A activity in US and other markets
Select Option 8 for statistics of volume, average premium, payment type, categorised by region and industry.

GlobalData Explorer

You have access to reports on M&A activities within specific industries and countries.
Search hint: choose Data Points > Deals. Now you have access to the Dashboard. Use the Dashboard or Refine Deals to get reports on Deals within Sectors, Geograhy, Value, etc.

Statista

contains a lot of data, statistics, and reports on the mergers and acquisition market