Libguides: Company Information: CEO & Board data

Databases with CEO & Board data

BoardEx (via WRDS)

BoardEx contains extensive data on the boards of publicly listed companies and notable private companies in all regions of the world. BoardEx provides data on e.g. age, gender, educational background, prior employment, tenure and social network connections of directors and executive of board as well as employment characteristics e.g. stock option holdings.

Number of companies:
Total nr. of companies in BoardEx: 20.000+.

Coverage: 1999-present.

BoardEx data are divided into four regions:

North America
Europe
United Kingdom
Rest of the World.

BoardEx datasets in WRDS are available as Individual level datasets, e.g. Individual Profile and Compensation Analysis data (see red arrows in picture below). And Company level datasets e.g. Organization Summary and Company Profile (blue arrows)
Note that the the datasets have underlying datasets

Detailed information and definitions of all variables available in BoardEx can be found in the BoardEx WRDS Data Dictionary. The data dictionary is available under the Manuals and Overviews page (se red box).

Identifiers.
BoardEx contains the following identifiers:

Individual/Director ID: a unique identifier allocated to a person
Individual ID: a unique identifier allocated to a person.
Company/Organization ID: a unique identifier allocated to each company/organization.
Company ID: a unique identifier allocated to each company/organization.
Company ISIN: an International Securities Identifying Number (ISIN) uniquely identifying a security.
Company Ticker: shorthand code used to uniquely identify shares of a publicly-traded corporation on a particular stock market.

In Orbis you can search for a company and choose to view "Directors, managers & advisors".

Execucomp (via WRDS)

Top executives' salary, bonus, and stock option data since 1992 is available. The database also has company-specific financial statement information to supplement the compensation data.

Execucomp consists of 9 separate databases which are part of the Compustat-Capital IQ provided by Standard & Poor's

Commonly used databases are

Director Compensation: this section is similar to the Annual Compensation dataset, except that Director Compensation merely provides data on directors instead of executives.
Pension Benefits: this database provides some variables on the pensions of executives. For example, it gives data on the total amount of pension payments that have been made in a specific year, the discounted value of the pension assets and the number of years that a certain executive has contributed to a pension plan. The data is available for 2006 onwards.
Plan Based Awards: in addition to Pension Benefits, this dataset provides data on rewards other than pensions.

Coverage:
Executive Compensation database contains over 3462 companies, both active and inactive. The universe of firms covers the S&P 1500 plus companies that were once part of the 1500 plus companies removed from the index that are still trading, and some client requests. Data collection on the S&P 1500 began in 1994. However, there is data back to 1992 but it is not the entire S&P 1500 – it is mostly for the S&P 500. Since ADR's do not file proxy statements with the SEC, there is no data available for such entities.